top of page

What Speaking UP as Christians Really Means ..


If you follow my Instagram, I'm sure you have seen my recent posts about the heart breaking and devastating news that NY has legalized late term abortion. If I'm being honest, I KNEW I needed to speak up but that doesn't mean that I wasn't afraid to do it. How about you? Did you speak up in your work place, on social media, or in your home? Did your heart start racing when you knew the Holy Spirit was prompting you to speak up? I know mine sure did and it lasted all day.

Truth is, I had never checked my Instagram as much as I did that first day I posted about the new bill. My heart was anxious and that CONVICTED me. My heart was anxious because I was nervous about what others would think, I was nervous to offend others, and I was unsure how my message would be accepted. I was AFRAID of man and that is sinful. I am not sure I realized how serious the sin of fear was in my life.. and if I'm being honest I think we ALL experience the fear of others disapproval.


But Peter and the apostles answered,

“We must obey God rather than men.

Acts 5:29

I should of posted with JOY knowing that if persecution comes, its because I am standing for the TRUTH. The apostles were beaten, stoned, and killed -- YET they left the jails and/or councils praising God! They were so thankful that by God's great mercy and grace that they were able to testify and witness in the Name of Jesus Christ that they didn't care if they were persecuted. They saw it as a privilege and honor, do we?

The apostles left the high council rejoicing that God had counted

them worthy to suffer disgrace for the name of Jesus.

Acts 5:41

So now that I am more aware of the sin of fear in my life I have to continually repent and ask for God's forgiveness. Thankfully, we know our God has forgiven ALL of our sins -- past, present & future. But what do I do now? That has been my question because lets face it that fear is still inside me. Thankfully, God has given us a great tool, he has given us His Word, that is LIVING & ACTIVE. I know that if I am not in the word of God, I am far more likely to go astray. The temptations become stronger and stronger, my fleshly desires rise up, and my pride takes over. It's UGLY, just ask my Husband. Anyone else know what I am talking about? So, I prayed and I prayed for God to give me a greater desire for his word, because the reality is that in this BUSY world my time in the word can diminish pretty quickly. Thankfully, our Father is faithful and my desire for the word has just continued growing. Honestly, IT HAS TO -- because if it doesn't in this world, I will compromise and be completely ineffective as a Christian. Anyone feel like they didn't speak up on this recent abortion bill because they didn't think it would do anything? Did you feel like it might be a waste of time? --- We cannot believe this lie from the enemy anymore, we must realize that we have the Holy Spirit living inside us! ​


Let me tell you a little story about the FIRST Martyr Stephen...

Stephen was a man God said was "FULL OF THE HOLY SPIRIT" + "FULL OF GRACE & POWER" ... (Acts 7)

I want to be a woman full of the Holy Spirit, Grace and Power. Who else is with me on this?

Stephen was doing great wonders and signs among the people. Stephen was proclaiming the true gospel in the temples. Of course, the Sanhedrin / Pharisee's, couldn't stand this. So they rose up and argued with Stephen. Funny thing was, there was NO arguing with Stephen. "They could not withstand the wisdom and the Spirit with which he was speaking." So the Sanhedrin started spreading lies about Stephen to the people, elders, and scribes -- and enough people believed the lies that they brought him before the council. Stephen was then questioned about the lies and Stephen took this as an opportunity to bare witness and testify about Jesus Christ. So Stephen went through the Old Testament history, showing the continued rejection of God through the many generations. He then showed how the Sanhedrin (Israel) had just done the same thing, by rejecting the one true Messiah Jesus Christ. You see, Israel had just killed Jesus Christ because they believed he was a blasphemer, they rejected Him instead of accepting him as their Savior.

STEPHEN - CALLED THEM OUT!

He uncovered that the essence of their religion was 'self-worship', NOT God-worship. They rejoiced in the work that they had done, not in the work that God had done. Do you see how this message still relates to the world today?

We are a culture that is all about self-worship, all about our rights, all our about our own truths... Good has become evil and evil has become good.

So what happen to Stephen. When he came to the end of his message this is what he said...

“You stiff-necked people! Your hearts and ears are still uncircumcised. You are just like your ancestors: You always resist the Holy Spirit! Was there ever a prophet your ancestors did not persecute? They even killed those who predicted the coming of the Righteous One. And now you have betrayed and murdered him— you who have received the law that was given through angels but have not obeyed it.” (Acts 7:51-53)

Guys, that is no joke. He is talking to the high priest of his day but he didn't care. He was full of the Holy Spirit, he had to proclaim the truth in power. The counsel was "ENRAGED" the Bible says, they cast him outside and stoned him. Stephen was the first Martyr in the Bible. Stephen's story doesn't end there though.. You see as Stephen was being stoned to death he prayed TWO very important prayers (similar to what Jesus Christ prayed on the cross as he died)... "Lord Jesus, receive my spirit" & "Lord, do not hold this sin against them." (Acts 7:59-60)

As I read through Stephen's Story in the Bible, I learned what Speaking Up As Christians Really Means..

I learned that speaking up as a christian is a privilege, that it is an honor to stand on the Truth of God's word. I also learned that one must be filled with the Holy Spirit in order to share God's message. I learned that when I speak up my message must align with God's word. I learned that persecution will come but that it should be accepted with peace and joy. I learned that TRUTH MUST BE SPOKEN, but that WE MUST ALWAYS pray for our persecutors and enemies.

Stephen's last prayer was for those who were killing him, let our first and last prayers be for those who are trying to kill the truth of the Gospel, for those who are trying to kill these innocent babies. Stephen, could of had a hardened heart to those who killed Christ, to those who were persecuting Him, he could of just apologized and walked out without a scratch that day, BUT he didn't. You see, LOVE WON THAT DAY. Stephen chose to share the truth with those who you were rejecting Him, hoping that all or maybe just one of those who heard his testimony might come to know Christ. Friends, we are not doing any good by staying silent, we are actually hating our enemies by doing that. We must speak up in truth and love in hopes that God might use our voice to soften a enemies heart toward Him.


bottom of page